what the cards tell me about drumming

Hi friends,

As some of you know, my focus this month has been to “follow the rhythm”.

This may sound abstract…. “rhythm” can be a metaphor for all kinds of things.

But for me it’s been very literal.

I’m a drummer. I want to drum more, and I want to share what I know about drumming with others.

So the idea to “follow the rhythm” has been an attempt to focus my energy on drumming, and just see how that wants to manifest in the world.

At the very beginning of the month I asked the cards:

In regards to my drumming classes, who do I serve?

I serve anyone who comes to me wanting to learn. And then I orchestrate like a boss (a wise, love-centered boss), and blow the lid off their pre-conceived notions.

Several things have lined up this month:

~ My drum workshop is returning to a local yoga studio on a monthly basis, beginning in October.

~ I’m scheduled to teach drumming to a group of women next month. (two of whom attended a workshop earlier this year and said they “want to bring me to their friends”. Aw ♥️!)

~ I’ve committed to taking classes from my teacher Daniel Brevil, a Haitian drum master who is CRAZY GOOD. (for those of you who don’t know – I’m a dancer. I only started drumming eight years ago. Quite literally because of Daniel. He was drumming for a class I attended regularly. He does things with rhythm that will make your head spin.)

~ And, I’m in conversation with an Afro-Cuban Batá player, and will be beginning lessons with her next month.

…I met this Bata teacher (Elizabeth Sayre) at Born to Drum this summer. The whole camp is AMAZING, but that class was a highlight. Those rhythms are so beautiful, and I had this weird sensation of deja-vu the whole class. (I don’t experience deja-vu often. When it happens, I notice.)

And, I was sitting next to another badass drum master – Nikki Campbell – so I got to jam with her the whole time.

Batá was traditionally only played by men, but there are more and more women playing now, in Cuba and beyond.

It’s so cool to see these old institutions being blasted! (I’m thinking of that last card again- the Tower. Yes. Blast that shit.)

While I’m on the topic, I have to say – I wish all of life could be like drum camp.

…. community, nature, sharing food, making friends, and drumming/dancing all day long.

What else is there? Why do we spend so much time and energy and all this other nonsense?

Oh. I just thought of another good question for the cards.

…. so I guess this topic is to be continued 😊

I hope you’re having a nice weekend.

Love and see you soon,

s

*pictured deck is the Jean Noblet Tarot de Marseille, restored by Jean-Claude Flornoy

Leave a Reply

