women that have inspired me

Georgia O’Keeffe (and my undying love for her)

“Color is one of the great things in the world that makes life worth living to me.” ~ Georgia O’Keeffe
georgia-okeeffe-painting-no-21-palo-duro-canyon-1916
Painting No 21 (Palo Duro Canyon), 1916

Georgia O’Keeffe is one of those humans whose existence speaks to my soul.

…i think she came along at a moment in my life when i was really needing to find strong women role models. i went to an exhibit, and she stopped me in my tracks. something about her art, her character, made me pause and notice.

her art… it takes my breath away every time i gaze upon it. and also her story… it inspires me in a new way every time i return to it.

when i think about her, i become reverent. she has that effect on me.

georgia-steiglitz

this photo cracks me up. she’s always depicted as being so serious, but i think she was quite spunky and light-hearted too. i love thinking of her that way.

it was one particular story that caught my attention in the beginning. i watched a documentary at that first exhibit, and in it she was talking about her move to New Mexico. the interviewer asked her if she had Stieglitz’ permission to move away, and she sort of guffawed at the question. she said it never occurred to her get his permission. it’s what she needed to do, so that’s what she did.

georgia-w-skull

 

i’ve always resonated with the latter part of her life the most – the years in her 40s and beyond when she created art in solitude in the desert. i love her desert.

i also love her affinity for bones. i love bones myself, even though i can’t say i have any laying around. (but i swear i’m going to learn to play them some day.)

“The bones seem to cut sharply to the center of something that is keenly alive… even tho’ it is vast and empty and untouchable – and knows no kindness with all its beauty.” ~ Georgia O’Keeffe
georgia-okeeffe-pelvis-iv
Pelvis IV, 1944

 

“When I started painting the pelvis bones I was most interested in the holes in the bones – what I saw through them – particularly the blue from holding them up in the sun against the sky as one is apt to do when one seems to have more sky than earth in one’s world.” ~ Georgia O’Keeffe

 

georgia-sculpting

i love this photo of her. with that head wrap and white collar she reminds me of a nun worshipping, and hers is a devotion to art. i can almost feel the soft clay beneath her strong, careful hands. impossibly round.

the shapes she makes. oh the shapes she makes.

and how beautiful to be so skillfully dedicated to her art at the age of 88.

i’m struggling to put it into words.
remember what i said about how she makes me feel reverent? yes, that.

i dare say Georgia O’Keeffe will always have this effect on me.
she inspires me to pay attention, to take care, to think of art as a meditation, and to pour my love into whatever art i practice.

thank you for living and for doing your thing Ms. O’Keeffe ❤

 

who inspires you?

love,

s

6 thoughts on “Georgia O’Keeffe (and my undying love for her)

  1. Thanks, Sami, I adore Georgia as well. Funny how much we have in common 😉 But for me her flowers will always hold a huge place in my heart. Some of her desert stuff is too empty for me.
    When I see paintings of her house and the gates and doorways I’m always glad that inside the doorways she found someone to listen to her and work with her and spend time with her in her old age. A loving companion on her journey.
    It seems to me that she dedicated her life to a different way of seeing, she was a truly organic human being undistracted by 3D. She is an inspiration still.
    xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

