lifestyle · roots

garbling

“Garbling herb is well performed in solitude, where it provides a prime opportunity to simultaneously garble one’s attitude and beliefs about life.” – James Green

~

herb cabinet

~

i have this fantasy about being an herbalist.

the scene in my head is of a magical kitchen filled with natural light, plenty of counter space, and a curious/exuberant mish mosh of plant matter.

the cupboards & drawers are devoted to keeping all of my funky/colorful bottles & jars, which are filled with dried herbs, tinctures, balms, salves, and so on.

when friends come to visit, i mix up a tea for the occasion. because, i mean, tea.

 i grow and harvest most of the herbs myself, or go out foraging in the wild.

foraging is the best part.

~

forest-wallpaper

~

this fantasy feels ions away

but i’ve been making baby steps for a while… like the mortar & pestle i bought a couple years ago to grind spices. (so satisfying.)

and the lip balm i made once, using beeswax and other goods.

the other day i harvested some Mugwort and Dandelion from a garden i’ve been caring for for years.

i was so proud. first i was going to take awesome photos for my blog, and then i would get busy garbling and turning them into future medicines.

ha ha ha. by the time i got home the herbs were hot, wilted, and lifeless.

and so was i, for that matter. ugh this heat.

~

herb journal, color edit

~

i recently found an herb book that speaks to me. (The Herbal Medicine-Maker’s Handbook, by James Green)

i’ve gathered a few books over the years, and they’ve all left me bored me to tears, or confused & overwhelmed. Green entertains me, and he makes it seems doable.

inspired by his advice, i designated this little white notebook as my herb journal.

i know, it won’t be white for very long, but it’s so sweet. and, it was given to me by my mom. (thanks mama <3)

look! i even made my first attempt at drawing a plant! it was surprisingly fun and educational. (seriously.)

i don’t know what the plant is, but it grows where i live. it sort of reminds me of Yarrow, Fennel, & Milk Thistle. maybe medicinal?

how will i found out?

?

now here’s a song/video i like. it has nothing to do with herbs. except for maybe the words feral, and love.

~

~

stay cool out there my friends,

s

2 thoughts on “garbling

  1. That made me laugh, Sami. I know I have spent lifetimes in little houses in the woods being an herbal magician. It feels like I was killed for it once or twice, the sleepers often weren’t grateful 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

